Knights of the Old Republic: the MMO

Electronic Arts, which bought out Bioware a while ago, has just confirmed that the MMO project Bioware’s been working on since 2006 (and about which virtually nothing else was known) is an entry in the Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic line.

KOTOR‘s been out of the spotlight lately.  The first game came out in 2003, and its sequel in December 2004.  The sequel (which was not developed by Bioware, since they were busy working on Jade Empire at the time) was criticized as being rushed and unfinished; there were plot threads that never quite resolved, subplots that were apparently dropped halfway through, and areas that were never completed.  For all that, it was still one of my favorite games at the time.

I’m a bit ambivalent about this.  As much as I like KOTOR, I can’t help but recall the first Star Wars MMO.  While I have to admit I never played it and lack firsthand knowledge, my understanding is that it was fairly complicated at launch, with some questionable design choices (like requiring a long process of mastering random professions to unlock Jedi characters, who were then subject to permanent death) — and that it later underwent massive revisions, such as reductions in the number of available professions which angered many of its players.

These were the fault of the implementation, of course, not the Star Wars property.  But the implementation was by Sony/Verant, so it’s not as though the developers were new to MMOs.  I can picture EA/Bioware making similar mistakes.

On the other hand, Bioware has a pretty good record as far as I’m concerned.  Baldur’s Gate, KOTOR, Jade Empire — good stuff.  For the most part, I trust Bioware to know how to make an entertaining game.

Of course, if I were an Everquest player, I might have said the same about Verant regarding Galaxies.

I can say this:  I feel more inclined to try this MMO than I did Galaxies.

One Response to Knights of the Old Republic: the MMO

  1. dude says:

    I agree with your post. I wouldn’t play Galaxies either. KOTOR MMO, yes!

Leave a Reply

